tea in my smoothie

I have some very quickly ripening avocados in my fridge that are in dire need of consuming.
I hunted around for a smoothie recipe that used them as well as mangoes since that’s what i currently have on hand.  But every recipe i looked at was similar or the exact same just with different measurements.
I have no coconut water, oranges or walnuts and i forgot to take a lime out of the freezer last night to thaw.. whoops!

In the end, i threw together an adaption of this and i loved it! It has a sweet and tangy flavor that i thoroughly enjoyed. (Reminded me of the not-so-fruity flavor of my favorite Key Lime Pie Smoothie)

Avocado, Lime and Mango Green Tea Smoothie
Makes one large serving.

1 1/2 cups Steeped Tea of choice* (I used Mango Passionfruit Acai Green Tea by Tetley.)
1/2 cup Mashed Ripe Avocado
1-2 Handfuls Baby Spinach
3/4 Cup Frozen Mango Chunks
2 tablespoons Blanched Slivered Almonds (Or Blanched Almond Flour)
1 tsp Raw Honey
1 – 1 1/2 tsp Lime Juice (Mine was still pretty frozen so i had to use the flesh.)

Blend All ingredients in blender until smooth.
Maybe i just have weird taste-buds, but i was wanting to go throw together a second batch after i finished!
*I heated the water up until just steaming and let the tea steep in the fridge for an hour while i did my morning workout!

I’ll definitely be trying different variations of this (and making the same one over again!) 🙂
I’m thinking my favorite tea, Blueberry Ginseng with Ginkgo, would be lovely to try with pear or other berries instead of the mango.

Leave a Reply

