21DSD – day one

I have officially begun my first 21-Day Sugar Detox!  I’m hoping this brings me a new light in how i see food, how i treat sweets and how much i truly need to eat.
My goal is to eat slower, learn to eat less before i eat more, be real with how much i’m eating and listen to my body!  I don’t usually eat a ton of sugar, but i do notice cravings and the negative effect i’ve been getting from my recent fruit and honey intake.  liiiiitle bit more than usual.
I want to detoxify and start afresh! woo!

My morning started out great! 🙂 I forgot to buy green/green tipped bananas so my plan to make this Avo-nana smoothie did not work out..
Instead, I had some immune boosting soup with a fried egg and broccoli.

mmm.  i was super satisfied!
But, i knew trouble was coming.  My Aunt visits every other sunday and they always have Coffee and Dessert…  what’s a girl to do??

By Lunchtime i was hungry and ate 2 stalks of celery with sunbutter while i prepped my food <– this is where my mistakes began.
For Lunch, i had a granny smith apple with cinnamon and coconut butter and more immune boosting soup.

This really wouldn’t have been so bad had the next parts not happened.

After lunch, the smell of coffee and blondies was making me want to dive into a fountain of caramel goodness.  Obviously, i wasn’t about to cheat.  but you don’t need to cheat to make a mistake.. and that is what i learned today.
So, i threw together a 1/2 batch of this fudge and made a cup of licorice spice tea (has the most delightful sweet aftertaste)

I’d like to say it wasn’t a craving and just that i wanted to take part in the visit..  but (not so) deep down i know i’d be lying.

Shortly after i devoured the fudge and drank my tea, i realized i hadn’t drank more than 7oz of water yet today…  I usually drink about 65oz of water per day.  After i had some water my hunger pangs left me.. thank goodness! I was safe, right?  …Or so it would seem.
By 3:40 i felt like eating something so i ate a small carrot and a small handful of almonds.
why.
whyyyyy.

after that i was like OKAY DONE.  NO MORE SNACKING.
boy, was i ever in for a surprise.

At 5:30 i made myself a fried egg with salmon.

yummy goodness.

I was all “yeah, no more eating for the night! i’ll be all good!”
But then i got the idea to make a batch of Almond Butter and Sunbutter.
harmless, right?
it should have been.

I somehow managed to think it was okay to snack and snack and snack on almonds while i measured them and prepared the food processor.
Then after making it i had to test it…  and lick the spoon…  and scrape the bowl down.
THEN i made my sunflower butter.  i usually don’t feel like licking up all sorts of that so i thought i’d be all good.  But then i had the brilliant idea of trying to make a Vanilla Chocolate Sunbutter.
The beautiful smells of warm vanilla and creamy chocolate just beckoned me to taste it..  and taste it i did.
Licked up the spoon and scraped down the bowl too.
Why did it have to taste so good?

I really don’t even want to think about how many calories i ate today.
just.. no.

My day wasn’t filled with cheats but i definitely feel like i cheated by making the mistake of over-eating on “Okay” foods. *cough* almonds *cough*
It’s embarrassing to write it all out, but i’m hoping it will just be a reminder to not do it again.
Tomorrow is a new day full of new beginnings and opportunities 🙂

Overall i was very happy and chipper
Low bloating
No pain (Pretty sure i was wrong about a nut/seed allergy)
Energy was low due to lack of sleep
And i obviously did have some cravings going on.  but i think it’s cause weekends are my weakness.. maybe.. maybe not…no..? okay..

Here’s to the next 20 days that i will look upon positively and with determination!

One thought on “21DSD – day one

  1. Gee! Goodluck with that regimen! It’s takes a looot of guts and self-control! I did a high-fiber and low-carb diet before, I was able to hold it for 5 months and lost around 6 lbs.

    Well, things happened. I fell plummeting back to the baconator and burgers and steaks and pasta and boom. 😀

    Anyway, your blog is really cool! Hopefully you could check out my food blog! http://www.worldofsinistrality.wordpress.com 😉

Leave a Reply

